If you have any news, press releases, or are interested in contributing to this website, please feel free to email us at nascarnewsandnotes@gmail.com

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Voting under way for Truck and Nationwide Series most popular driver

By Official Release:

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- For the fourth consecutive year, fans can vote online for the 2011 Most Popular Driver in the Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series (Twitter hashtags: #NNSMPD, #NCWTSMPD).

Voting begins July 7 and runs through Nov. 17, prior to the season-ending race for both national series at Homestead-Miami Speedway during Ford Championship Weekend.

This year, fans have dedicated sites on NASCAR.COM to vote. For the Nationwide Series, fans can go to www.NASCAR.com/nnsmpd and to www.NASSCAR.com/ncwtsmpd for the Camping World Truck Series. Fans may vote once per day leading up to the Nov. 17 deadline.

To be eligible to receive votes, drivers must have selected either the Nationwide Series or Camping World Truck Series to receive 2011 driver championship points. Additionally, drivers must have attempted at least half of each series' races this season.

The winners will be announced at the 2011 Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series Awards Banquet. The combined post-season gala will again take place in South Florida at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel on Monday, Nov. 21.

With eligibility tied to their selected series for points, a new Most Popular Driver will be crowned in both series this year. Brad Keselowski, the 2010 Nationwide Series champion, earned a record-setting third consecutive series Most Popular Driver award via fan vote following last season. Kenny Wallace also has three Most Popular Driver awards in the Nationwide Series, though not consecutively. Narain Karthikeyan captured the most votes in the Camping World Truck Series to earn that series' Most Popular Driver honor in 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment